You're on the U.S. site — severance, unemployment, COBRA, WARN, H-1B.In India? Switch to the India site →

UPS Layoffs: Latest Updates, Severance, WARN and Employee Guide

Ongoing restructuringHigh confidenceLatest verified event: August 5, 2026· Reviewed September 17, 2026

UPS is in a multi-year network transformation (“Network of the Future” / “Efficiency Reimagined”), shrinking its workforce mainly through attrition, voluntary buyouts and facility consolidation as it pulls back from Amazon volume — which is why the headline numbers are reduction targets rather than layoff counts.

Educational, employee-first summary of publicly available information — not legal, financial, tax or immigration advice, and not affiliated with or endorsed by UPS. Verify your specific situation with HR, official notices and qualified professionals.

Quick answer

Latest verified development
On the 27 January 2026 earnings call UPS's CFO said: “In terms of variable costs, we expect to reduce operational positions by up to 30,000. This will be accomplished through attrition, and we expect to offer a second voluntary separation program for full-time drivers.” That mechanism matters — the plan as stated is attrition plus a buyout, not 30,000 layoff notices. UPS also identified 24 buildings for closure in the first half of 2026, and by 30 June it had closed 45 and recorded about $1.1 billion of separation costs for the resulting Driver Choice Program.
What kind of event
A multi-year network and facility restructuring, executed mainly through attrition, voluntary separation programmes and building closures rather than through mass involuntary layoffs — hitting both union-represented operational roles and non-union management, under different rules.
What number is confirmed
“Up to 30,000” is a company-stated 2026 target for operational positions, explicitly to be accomplished through attrition and a second driver buyout. It is a ceiling on a reduction, not a count of people laid off, and UPS has not published how the realised total splits between attrition, buyout acceptances and involuntary separations. For 2025, UPS's own filings state that it reduced its operational workforce by approximately 48,000 positions — including 15,000 fewer seasonal positions — and separately completed a roughly 14,000-position reduction, primarily management, under its Fit to Serve initiative.
Who appears most affected
Operational roles, many of them Teamsters-represented, concentrated where facilities are consolidating — plus management under the separate Fit to Serve programme. Your rights differ sharply by whether you are union or non-union, and a voluntary buyout you accept is governed by its own terms rather than by your contract's layoff provisions.
What to verify first
Whether what you are being offered is a buyout you can decline or a separation you cannot, whether your separation is governed by the Teamsters contract (seniority, bumping, recall) or by management severance, your pension status, and any buyout election deadline.

Current status as of August 26, 2026

Classification: Ongoing restructuring

Confirmed

  • 27 January 2026, CFO Brian Dykes on the Q4 2025 earnings call: “In terms of variable costs, we expect to reduce operational positions by up to 30,000. This will be accomplished through attrition, and we expect to offer a second voluntary separation program for full-time drivers.”
  • The same call: 24 buildings identified for closure in the first half of 2026, with additional closures possible later in the year, and about $3 billion of expected savings.
  • FY2025 Form 10-K: “We reduced our operational workforce by approximately 48,000 positions, including 15,000 fewer seasonal positions, and closed daily operations at 93 leased and owned buildings, 85 of which have been permanently closed in 2025.”
  • The same 10-K describes Fit to Serve as a separate initiative — “a workforce reduction of approximately 14,000 positions, primarily within management” — completed in 2025.
  • Q2 2026 Form 10-Q: the Driver Choice Program, a voluntary separation program offered to all full-time US drivers, closed its election window in Q1 2026 and final acceptances were communicated in Q2 2026; UPS recorded approximately $1.1 billion of separation costs in the first half of 2026 and closed 45 buildings, 44 permanently.
  • Approximately 460,000 employees excluding temporary seasonal staff as of 31 December 2025 — about 370,000 in the US, of whom nearly 80% are union-represented. The Teamsters national master agreement runs to 31 July 2028.

Reported / proposed (not confirmed)

  • How the up-to-30,000 will actually split between attrition, buyout acceptances and involuntary separations has not been published, and the realised total may be lower than 30,000 — “up to” is a ceiling.
  • The 48,000 figure needs care. UPS's full-year filing attributes approximately 48,000 to the operational workforce including seasonal roles; reporting after the third quarter of 2025 described a coincidentally identical 48,000 as 34,000 operational plus 14,000 management. Those are different measures, and the 14,000 management reduction belongs to the separate Fit to Serve programme. Do not add them.
  • A seasonal position that is not refilled is a reduction in UPS's count but was never a year-round job, so 15,000 of the 2025 operational figure should not be read as 15,000 people losing permanent employment.
  • The Teamsters have publicly contested aspects of the driver buyout programmes; terms and take-up vary.

UPS snapshot

Legal employer nameUnited Parcel Service, Inc.
Common nameUPS
Parent companyNone (independent)
Covered subsidiariesUPS Supply Chain Solutions, UPS Airlines
IndustryLogistics and package delivery
HeadquartersAtlanta, Georgia, United States
TickerUPS (NYSE)
Employee base~460,000 employees excluding temporary seasonal (~370,000 US, ~90,000 international); ~75,000 management, ~385,000 hourly (as of December 31, 2025)
Latest verified eventH1 2026: the Driver Choice Program closes — ~$1.1 billion in separation costs, 45 buildings closed — August 5, 2026
Historical H-1B sponsorLimited (not a major sponsor)
Source confidenceHigh confidence
Guide last reviewedSeptember 17, 2026 by Deepak Middha

UPS layoff timeline

UPS's reductions are operational and facility-driven, and they hit two very different populations: Teamsters-represented hourly employees (whose separations are governed by the union contract) and non-union management. Rounds are listed newest first. Identify which group you're in before reading the rest.

H1 2026: the Driver Choice Program closes — ~$1.1 billion in separation costs, 45 buildings closed

August 5, 2026high
Voluntary separationOfficially filedAffected: acceptances not disclosed — ~$1.1bn of separation costs recorded in the first half of 2026
Affected divisions
US Domestic Package, Full-time drivers
Affected roles
Full-time package-car drivers, Operational roles at closing buildings
Locations
United States

Company-stated reason: Q2 2026 Form 10-Q: “In the six months ended June 30, 2026, we offered a voluntary separation program, the Driver Choice Program, to all full-time drivers in the United States. The program election window closed in the first quarter of 2026, and final acceptances were determined and communicated to impacted employees in the second quarter of 2026.” UPS recorded approximately $1.1 billion in separation costs related to the programme and closed 45 leased and owned buildings, 44 of them permanently. [10]

What this means for you: This is the second driver buyout UPS flagged in January, now executed. It is the concrete, filed evidence of how the 2026 reduction is actually happening — voluntarily and expensively, with $1.1 billion booked in six months. If you accepted, your terms come from the programme document rather than from the contract's layoff provisions; if you declined and your building has since closed, the contract governs instead.

Full-year 2025: ~48,000 operational positions (incl. 15,000 seasonal) and 93 buildings closed; ~14,000 management under Fit to Serve

February 17, 2026high
LayoffCompany-announcedAffected: ~48,000 operational (incl. ~15,000 seasonal) + ~14,000 management (separate Fit to Serve programme)
Affected divisions
U.S. package operations, Management, Facilities
Affected roles
Operational (drivers, package handlers — many Teamsters), Management
Locations
93 owned/leased buildings closed across the U.S.

Company-stated reason: UPS's FY2025 Form 10-K: “We reduced our operational workforce by approximately 48,000 positions, including 15,000 fewer seasonal positions, and closed daily operations at 93 leased and owned buildings, 85 of which have been permanently closed in 2025.” It describes the management reduction separately, under Fit to Serve: “a workforce reduction of approximately 14,000 positions, primarily within management”, completed in 2025. [9],[4],[5]

What this means for you: Two different 48,000s circulate for 2025 and they are not the same number. UPS's full-year filing gives 48,000 as the operational reduction, seasonal roles included. Reporting after Q3 2025 gave 48,000 as 34,000 operational plus 14,000 management — a nine-month snapshot that has since been superseded by the company's own annual disclosure. Use the filing, and keep Fit to Serve's management reduction separate from the operational one rather than folding it in.

Up to ~30,000 operational positions in 2026 — via attrition and a second driver buyout, plus ≥24 building closures

January 27, 2026high
Attrition-driven reductionCompany-announcedAffected: up to ~30,000 operational positions — attrition + a voluntary driver buyout, not layoff notices
Affected divisions
U.S. package operations, Facilities/buildings, Management
Affected roles
Operational (union drivers, package handlers), Management
Locations
At least 24 buildings identified for closure by June 2026 (various states)

Company-stated reason: On the Q4 2025 earnings call, CFO Brian Dykes said: “In terms of variable costs, we expect to reduce operational positions by up to 30,000. This will be accomplished through attrition, and we expect to offer a second voluntary separation program for full-time drivers.” He tied it to reducing total operational hours by approximately 25 million as Amazon volume declines, alongside further automation and 24 identified building closures in the first half of 2026. [1],[9]

What this means for you: Read the mechanism, not just the number. UPS said attrition and a voluntary buyout — meaning most of the 30,000 is expected to come from positions not being refilled and from drivers choosing to take a package, not from people being told to leave. That distinction changes what you should do: if you are offered the buyout you have a decision and a deadline, and accepting it is a resignation with terms rather than a layoff, which can affect unemployment eligibility in some states. If your building is on the closure list, the contract's seniority, bumping and recall provisions matter more than the headline figure.

~20,000 operational cuts + ~73 facility closures announced for 2025

April 29, 2025high
LayoffCompany-announcedAffected: ~20,000 operational (2025 plan)
Affected divisions
U.S. package operations, Facilities
Affected roles
Operational (drivers, package handlers)
Locations
~73 facilities slated for closure (2025 plan)

Company-stated reason: Announced alongside Q1 2025 earnings: reduce Amazon delivery volume by roughly half and reconfigure the network ('Network of the Future'). [2],[3]

What this means for you: This was the opening announcement of the current program. The Amazon-volume pullback is the structural driver — it means these reductions are strategic and ongoing, not a temporary dip.

What changed between rounds

Union operations vs. management — two different worlds

The single most important UPS distinction is whether you're a Teamsters-represented employee or non-union management. Union separations are governed by the UPS Teamsters National Master Agreement — seniority, layoff/bumping and recall rights, and any contractual pay — not a discretionary corporate severance. Management reductions look more like a conventional layoff, with severance and buyout offers. Do not apply tech-layoff or 'standard severance' assumptions to a union role.

Facility closures, not just headcount

Much of UPS's reduction is physical: 93 buildings closed in 2025, with more identified for 2026. Facility closures can trigger WARN notices and, for union members, contractual relocation/bumping/recall processes tied to seniority. If your building is closing, your options may include transferring to another facility based on seniority — confirm the process under your contract.

The Amazon-volume pullback is the driver

UPS is deliberately cutting lower-margin Amazon volume (roughly in half), which structurally shrinks the network it needs. That makes these reductions strategic and ongoing rather than a temporary demand dip — plan accordingly, whether you're union or management.

WARN notice research

Facility closures make WARN especially relevant at UPS: closing a building can be a covered 'plant closing' or mass layoff under federal WARN and some state laws. UPS operates in every state, so notices are filed with individual state agencies for the affected worksites. Search the official WARN database for the state where your building is located, not UPS's Georgia headquarters.

No matching official filing was located during the latest review. This does not establish that WARN did not apply or that no notice exists. WARN coverage depends on the employer, worksite, event size, timing, exceptions and state law. Verify in the official database for your worksite's state — not the company headquarters state.

Check the official WARN database for your worksite state:

Historically reported UPS severance packages

UPS separation terms depend fundamentally on whether you are Teamsters-represented or non-union management. These are two separate tracks — read the one that applies to you.

Teamsters-represented (union) operational employees · 2025

Officially documentedmedium

United States (governed by the UPS Teamsters National Master Agreement)

For Teamsters-represented employees, layoffs, facility closures and recalls are governed by the collective bargaining agreement, not a discretionary corporate severance policy. That means seniority-based layoff order, bumping rights, transfer/relocation rights and recall rights, plus any separation or displacement pay the contract provides. Some driver buyout offers were made and, in places, contested by the union. Your local and the National Master Agreement — not a generic severance formula — control your outcome. [7],[2]

Governing documentUPS Teamsters National Master Agreement (2023–2028) + your local supplement
Layoff orderSeniority-based; bumping and recall rights typically apply
Relocation/transferFacility closures can trigger transfer rights based on seniority — confirm with your steward/local
PensionMultiemployer / UPS-IBT pension participation — confirm vesting and impact of separation
Separation payPer contract, if any — do not assume a corporate severance formula applies
Union track: seniority is the tenure axis, not a severance formulaFor Teamsters-represented employees, length of service converts into seniority — which drives layoff order, bumping rights, transfer rights on a facility closure and recall rights — rather than into a number of weeks of pay. That is a different and often more valuable thing than severance. Establish your seniority date and your bumping and recall rights with your steward before you consider any offer.
Never assume the other track's terms apply to youThe two tracks are governed by entirely different documents — the National Master Agreement and your local supplement on one side, a discretionary corporate policy on the other. A figure a colleague quotes is only meaningful if they are on your track. Confirm which one you are on before you benchmark anything.

Note: This is general information about a union-governed process, not legal advice or a summary of your specific local supplement. Confirm your seniority, bumping/recall and pension rights with your Teamsters local and steward, and read the applicable contract language. Terms vary by local and job classification.

Non-union management / corporate employees · 2025

Reported / undisclosedlimited

United States

Management reductions have included both involuntary separations and voluntary buyout offers. UPS has not published a public per-year management severance formula, so treat amounts as undisclosed and confirm your specific offer. Management compensation can include UPS equity (e.g., the Management Incentive Program), so equity vesting is a factor here in a way it is not for hourly roles. [4]

Severance/buyoutOffered to some management; amount not publicly disclosed as a formula — confirm your figure
Equity (MIP/RSUs)Management equity vesting matters — confirm what vests before your termination date
Health coverageConfirm coverage end date and COBRA; employer subsidy not publicly documented
ReleaseA release is typically required for management severance; OWBPA windows apply if 40+
Management track: level drives equity, not just cashFor non-union management, the Management Incentive Program means a meaningful part of compensation sits in UPS equity, and how much of it vests before your termination date is level- and grant-dependent. For senior management this frequently exceeds the cash component. Request a written vesting schedule against your separation date.

Note: Past packages provide historical context only, and UPS has not published a management severance formula. Do not assume any figure. If you're offered a voluntary buyout, confirm the deadline and how it compares to an involuntary package, and get your terms in writing.

What signing asks you to give up

Severance is almost never a gift. In the United States it is nearly always consideration — payment in exchange for a release of claims, which is the operative half of the document and the half that is easy to skim past. Before you sign UPS's agreement, know what the release actually covers and what it cannot.

Typically waivedClaims arising from your employment and its end — discrimination, wrongful termination, harassment and retaliation — usually including claims you do not yet know about.
Wage claims — treated differentlyDo not assume unpaid wages are released just because the agreement is broadly worded. Whether a statutory wage claim can be released at all varies by the statute and by your state. Federal minimum-wage and overtime rights under the FLSA are the clearest example: the Supreme Court held that allowing employees to waive statutory wages “would nullify the purposes of the Act,” and extended the same reasoning to liquidated damages (Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945)). Congress provided a specific route instead — payment supervised by the Secretary of Labor, which on payment in full does waive the private right of action (29 U.S.C. § 216(c)) — and courts commonly require court approval or a bona fide dispute for anything else, with the rules differing between circuits. Several states go further: California, for example, voids a release of a wage claim taken before the wages are paid, and bars its wage-payment rules from being “contravened or set aside by a private agreement” (Cal. Lab. Code §§ 206.5, 219). If you are owed final pay, PTO, commissions or overtime, treat that as a separate question from the release and get advice on your own state's rule.
Often added alongsideNon-disparagement, confidentiality about the agreement, cooperation clauses, return-of-property terms, and sometimes non-solicit or non-compete restrictions. These are obligations you take on, not claims you release — read them separately.
Cannot be waivedYour right to file a charge with the EEOC, or to take part in an EEOC investigation. Federal regulation is explicit: no waiver agreement may include a provision prohibiting anyone from filing a charge — including a challenge to the validity of the waiver itself— or from participating in an EEOC proceeding, and none may impose a penalty or condition that adversely affects that right (29 C.F.R. § 1625.22(i)). Vested retirement benefits, unemployment eligibility and, in most states, workers' compensation claims also sit outside a release.
If you are 40 or older“An individual may not waive any right or claim under this chapter unless the waiver is knowing and voluntary” — and the ADEA sets out what that requires at a minimum (29 U.S.C. § 626(f)(1)). Which consideration period applies depends on how the offer is made:
  • At least 21 days to consider the agreement — the general rule for a waiver offered to you individually (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(i)).
  • At least 45 days instead, where the waiver is requested in connection with an exit incentive or other employment termination program offered to a group or class of employees (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(ii)). Whether your separation is part of such a program is a factual question about how the employer structured and offered the waiver — a company announcing a layoff round does not by itself establish that every separation agreement in it is part of a group program.
  • At least 7 days after you sign in which you may revoke, and the agreement cannot become effective or enforceable until that period expires (§ 626(f)(1)(G)). This one cannot be shortened.
  • Where a waiver is requested in connection with such a group program, the employer must also inform you in writing, at the start of the consideration period, of the class, unit or group covered, the eligibility factors and any time limits, plus the job titles and ages of everyone eligible or selected and the ages of everyone in the same job classification or organizational unit who was not selected (§ 626(f)(1)(H)).
Do not assume which period applies to you. Read the agreement itself — it normally states the consideration period on its face — and check whether you were given decisional-unit information alongside it. If the stated window is shorter than you expected, or group disclosures are absent where the waiver appears to be tied to a group program, that is worth raising with an employment lawyer before you sign rather than assuming either 21 or 45 days is your entitlement.

If those requirements are not met, the age-claim waiver does not hold. The Supreme Court put it plainly in Oubre v. Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422 (1998): a release that does not comply with the OWBPA “is unenforceable against her insofar as it purports to waive or release her ADEA claim… the release cannot bar her ADEA suit, irrespective of the validity of the contract as to other claims” — and she did not have to give the money back first. Note the second half of that sentence: the defect invalidates the ADEA waiver, not automatically every other provision of the agreement, which may still bind you. It is also the employer's burden to prove a waiver was knowing and voluntary (§ 626(f)(3)), which is why a shortened window or a missing group disclosure is worth raising before you sign rather than after. Severance agreements over 40 (OWBPA) covers this in full, and severance agreement red flags covers the clauses worth pushing back on. This is general information, not legal advice about your situation.

Past packages provide historical context only. Your terms may differ by layoff round, role, level, tenure, location, legal employer and separation agreement. If you are 40 or older, review the severance agreement over 40 (OWBPA) guide before signing.

UPS-specific compensation issues

Pensions (not RSUs) are the core issue for union employees

Unlike tech layoffs, the biggest financial question for many UPS employees is the pension. Teamsters-represented UPS employees participate in defined-benefit pension arrangements (multiemployer plans and/or the UPS-IBT full-time employee pension plan). Whether you're vested, your years of credited service, and how a layoff or facility transfer affects accruals can dwarf any short-term severance. Confirm your pension status with your plan and local before making decisions. [7]

Seniority, bumping and recall rights

For union roles, seniority is the currency of a layoff: it drives layoff order, the ability to 'bump' into another role or facility, and recall rights if work returns. If your building closes, you may have the right to transfer based on seniority. These rights come from your contract and local supplement — confirm them with your steward rather than assuming a clean severance-and-leave outcome. [7]

Management equity and incentive pay

Non-union management may hold UPS equity through the Management Incentive Program and other awards. If you're management, map your vesting against your termination date and confirm how any earned incentive pay is handled — this is where management terms look more like a conventional corporate layoff than a union separation. [4]

Health insurance, benefits and final pay

  • Union employees: benefits (including health and pension) are typically governed by the contract and associated funds — confirm with your local and plan, not just UPS HR.
  • Management/non-union: confirm your exact coverage end date and COBRA; compare COBRA vs. ACA Marketplace.
  • Losing job-based coverage generally creates a Marketplace Special Enrollment Period, available for 60 days before and 60 days after the loss of coverage; verify the effective-date mechanics for the plan you choose.
  • For a facility closure, ask about transfer options before your last day — a transfer may preserve benefits and pension service.
Final pay, unused PTO, bonus and commission treatment depend on your work state, company policy, legal employer, separation agreement and pay classification — there is no single nationwide rule (for example, some states treat accrued PTO as earned wages, others leave it to policy). Verify with these tools:

H-1B and employment-visa considerations

Historical sponsorship: LimitedUnited Parcel Service, Inc.

UPS is not a major H-1B sponsor, and most affected UPS roles — drivers, package handlers, operational and many management positions — are not visa-sponsored. Federal data indicates UPS has filed some labor-condition applications/petitions for corporate and technology roles, so a small number of affected employees in those functions could be on work visas. This is 'not a major sponsor,' not 'no sponsorship ever' — if you're on a visa in a UPS corporate/tech role, verify your status and options with immigration counsel. [8]

  • For an eligible H-1B worker, the regulation provides a discretionary period of up to 60 consecutive days following cessation of the employment on which the classification was based, or until the authorized validity period ends, whichever is shorter (8 C.F.R. § 214.1(l)(2)). It is available once during each authorized validity period, and DHS may shorten or eliminate it.
  • A payroll, severance or employer-labelled termination date does not automatically resolve when that cessation occurred. Confirm the facts promptly with qualified immigration counsel rather than counting days from the date on your letter.
  • The period may allow a transfer, a change of status or departure, but it is not work authorization in itself — unless otherwise authorized, you may not work during it.
  • Ask about internal transfer and subsidiary transfer options, employment-verification letters, and any I-140/green-card process impact.

This is general information, not case-specific legal advice. Consult a qualified immigration attorney about your situation.

Alumni and former-employee networks

UPS has a very large current and former workforce, especially in operations. Alumni networking looks different from tech: lean on your Teamsters local and steward network for union roles, and use the shared alumni directory and LinkedIn for management/corporate roles. Logistics experience transfers well across the industry.

UPS alumni network

UPS alumni across operations, logistics and management; for union roles, lean on your Teamsters local network too.

Alumni network · LinkedIn alumni search · opens a public LinkedIn people search · link checked 2026-08-26

Open

Communities beyond UPS

  • Layoffs.fyi

    Tech layoff tracker with a community list of laid-off talent open to work.

    Visit
  • VetsinTech

    Nonprofit connecting military veterans to tech training, employment and a national network.

    Visit
  • Disability:IN

    Business network for disability inclusion — employer directory and a talent programme.

    Visit
All alumni networks and ERGs for UPS

Questions to ask UPS HR

  1. 1. Am I a Teamsters-represented employee or non-union management, and which set of rules governs my separation?

    Why it matters: This determines everything else.

  2. 2. (Union) What are my seniority, bumping, transfer and recall rights, and is my facility closing?

    Why it matters: Confirm with your steward/local, not just UPS HR.

  3. 3. (Union) What is my pension status — am I vested, and how does this affect credited service?

  4. 4. (Management) Is this an involuntary separation or a voluntary buyout, and what is the deadline?

  5. 5. (Management) How is my severance calculated, and is it a lump sum or salary continuation?

  6. 6. (Management) What happens to my UPS equity/MIP awards and any earned incentive pay?

  7. 7. What is my official termination or last-work date, and my exact benefits end date?

  8. 8. Is a transfer to another facility available, and would it preserve my benefits and pension service?

  9. 9. Was a WARN notice filed for my facility, and where can I see it?

  10. 10. How will UPS code my separation for unemployment purposes?

  11. 11. Is outplacement or job-placement support available (management), and what union resources exist (union)?

Get the important answers in writing where you can.

Employee action plan

First 24 hours

  • Do firstDetermine whether you're union (Teamsters) or non-union management — everything branches from this.
  • Do firstUnion: contact your steward/local about seniority, bumping, transfer and recall rights and whether your facility is closing.
  • Management: note whether it's a buyout or involuntary separation and every deadline; don't sign immediately.
  • Save permitted personal documents (pay stubs, benefits/pension statements, seniority/service records, any offer or notice).

First 7 days

  • Do firstUnion: confirm pension vesting and credited service with your plan; document your seniority date.
  • Management: model buyout vs. involuntary outcomes and map any equity vesting to your termination date.
  • Search your facility state's official WARN database for the closure notice.
  • Confirm your exact benefits end date and compare COBRA vs. Marketplace (management) or check contract/fund coverage (union).
  • Line up references and tap your local/steward network (union) or LinkedIn and alumni directory (management).

First 30 days

  • File for unemployment in your work state; confirm how any severance or buyout affects timing.
  • Do firstUnion: finalize any transfer/recall decisions and protect pension service.
  • Management: decide health coverage before deadlines; compare your 401(k) options.
  • Build a written runway plan using the severance and runway calculators (adapt inputs to hourly/union pay if applicable).

Related LayoffNext tools

More related guides are being added as new companies are published.

UPS layoffs — frequently asked questions

How many jobs is UPS cutting?+
UPS's own FY2025 Form 10-K says it “reduced our operational workforce by approximately 48,000 positions, including 15,000 fewer seasonal positions, and closed daily operations at 93 leased and owned buildings” during 2025. Separately, and not to be added to that figure, its Fit to Serve initiative reduced approximately 14,000 positions, primarily within management, and completed in 2025. You will also see 48,000 described as “34,000 operational plus 14,000 management” — that came from reporting after the third quarter of 2025 and is a different, nine-month measure that the annual filing has superseded. For 2026, UPS has said it expects to reduce operational positions by up to 30,000 through attrition plus a second voluntary driver buyout, which is a reduction target rather than a layoff count. [9],[1]
Why is UPS laying off so many people?+
UPS is deliberately reducing lower-margin Amazon delivery volume (roughly by half) and consolidating its network — closing buildings and automating — under its 'Network of the Future'/'Efficiency Reimagined' strategy. Because it's a structural strategy rather than a temporary demand dip, the reductions have been large and ongoing. [2],[5]
I'm a UPS Teamster — how does a layoff work for me?+
Your separation is governed by the UPS Teamsters National Master Agreement and your local supplement, not a discretionary corporate severance. That means seniority-based layoff order, bumping and transfer rights (especially if your building closes), recall rights, and pension considerations. Confirm your specific rights with your steward and local — they control your outcome. [7]
What severance does UPS management get?+
UPS management reductions have included involuntary separations and voluntary buyouts, but UPS has not published a per-year management severance formula, so treat amounts as undisclosed and confirm your specific offer. Management compensation can include UPS equity (Management Incentive Program), so factor in vesting. If offered a buyout, confirm the deadline and how it compares to an involuntary package. [4]
What happens to my UPS pension if I'm laid off?+
For many UPS employees the pension is the biggest question. Teamsters-represented employees participate in defined-benefit pension arrangements (multiemployer plans and/or the UPS-IBT full-time employee pension plan). Whether you're vested, your credited service, and how a layoff or transfer affects accruals can outweigh any short-term severance. Confirm your pension status with your plan and local before deciding. [7]
Did UPS file WARN notices for facility closures?+
Closing a building can be a covered plant closing or mass layoff under federal WARN and some state laws, so WARN is especially relevant at UPS. Notices are filed with the state agency for the affected worksite. Search the official WARN database for the state where your building is located, and use the LayoffNext WARN Tracker as a starting point. [2]
Does UPS sponsor H-1B workers?+
UPS is not a major H-1B sponsor, and most affected roles (drivers, package handlers, operational and many management jobs) are not visa-sponsored. Federal data indicates UPS has filed some applications for corporate and technology roles, so a small number of affected employees in those functions could be on visas. If that's you, verify your status and options with immigration counsel — 'not a major sponsor' is not the same as 'no sponsorship.' [8]
Can laid-off UPS employees collect unemployment?+
Layoffs and facility closures are generally qualifying reasons for unemployment, but eligibility, amounts and how any severance or buyout affects timing depend on your work state. File in the state where you worked as soon as you're eligible, and confirm how your specific pay affects your benefit start date.

Sources and methodology

Every material figure on this page references a numbered source below. We prioritize company and SEC filings, official government and WARN data, and federal immigration data, followed by reputable reporting; anonymous posts are not used as a sole source for any material claim. Confidence labels describe source strength, not certainty for your situation: supported by company, sec, government, or multiple strong sources. (High); credible reporting exists but important details remain incomplete. (Medium); public evidence is incomplete or primarily secondary. (Limited).

  1. CNBC · January 27, 2026 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: jan-2026-30000-plan, attrition-2nd-driver-vsp, 24-buildings-h1-2026

  2. CNN Business · April 29, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: apr-2025-20000-operational, 73-facility-closures, amazon-volume-reduction

  3. Supply Chain Dive · April 29, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: apr-2025-20000-operational, network-of-the-future

  4. The Wall Street Journal · October 28, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: 2025-48000-total, 34000-operational, 14000-management

  5. UPS Investor Relations · October 28, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: 93-buildings-closed, efficiency-reimagined, cost-savings

  6. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · February 18, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: employee-base, teamsters-majority

  7. International Brotherhood of Teamsters · August 22, 2023 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: union-governed-separation, seniority-recall-rights

  8. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: h1b-limited

  9. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · February 17, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: ~460,000 employees excluding temporary seasonal (370,000 US, 90,000 international); ~75,000 management and ~385,000 hourly, Nearly 80% of US employees represented by unions; Teamsters national master agreement expires 31 July 2028, Operational workforce reduced by approximately 48,000 positions in 2025, including 15,000 fewer seasonal positions, Fit to Serve: a separate workforce reduction of approximately 14,000 positions, primarily management, completed in 2025, A voluntary separation program was offered to full-time US drivers in Q3 2025; $387 million of separation costs recognised in 2025

  10. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · August 5, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: The Driver Choice Program: a voluntary separation program offered to all full-time US drivers; election window closed in Q1 2026, final acceptances communicated in Q2 2026, Approximately $1.1 billion of separation costs recorded in the first half of 2026, 45 buildings closed in the first half of 2026, 44 permanently, ~$1.2 billion of programme benefits in H1 2026; ~$3 billion expected for full-year 2026

Report a correction

Believe something is inaccurate or outdated? Email support@layoffnext.com.

Methodology & standards

How we research · Editorial standards

Important disclaimer

This guide is an educational summary of publicly available information about UPS and is not legal, financial, tax, immigration, benefits or employment advice. It is not affiliated with, authorized by, or endorsed by UPS. Severance, benefits, equity, WARN coverage and legal rights vary by role, level, location, tenure, legal employer, agreement and applicable law, and companies change terms between rounds. Verify your specifics with HR, official notices, state agencies and qualified professionals. See our full disclaimer.

Deepak Middha, Founder of LayoffNext
Founder of LayoffNext

Deepak Middha is the founder of LayoffNext and a Chartered Accountant (ICAI, India). A U.S. immigrant with nearly 20 years of experience — and 17 years in hedge fund and private equity administration, including as Vice President of Fund Accounting at NAV Fund Administration Group and Associate Director of Private Equity and Real Estate at SS&C Technologies — he builds free, plain-language layoff tools and guides for employees, H-1B workers, and immigrant families.

Updated September 17, 2026
LayoffNext Weekly

Layoff recovery tips for employees

Get practical layoff recovery tips, financial planning reminders, job-search guidance, and new free tools.

Free weekly email. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Learn what's inside