You're on the U.S. site — severance, unemployment, COBRA, WARN, H-1B.In India? Switch to the India site →

Intel Layoffs: Latest Updates, Severance, WARN and Employee Guide

Ongoing restructuringHigh confidenceLatest verified event: July 20, 2026· Reviewed September 17, 2026

Intel remains in a deep, multi-year restructuring: the August 2024 cut (~15%) and 2025 reductions under CEO Lip-Bu Tan were followed by fresh Data Center & AI unit layoffs in July 2026.

Educational, employee-first summary of publicly available information — not legal, financial, tax or immigration advice, and not affiliated with or endorsed by Intel. Verify your specific situation with HR, official notices and qualified professionals.

Quick answer

Latest verified development
In July 2026, ahead of its Q2 earnings, Intel launched fresh layoffs in its Data Center and AI (DCAI) unit under CEO Lip-Bu Tan — the newest step in a turnaround that shrank headcount from about 132,000 in 2022 to roughly 85,000 by the end of 2025. Intel confirmed the DCAI cuts but did not disclose the number (reported to reach hundreds globally). The earlier, widely cited cut of about 15,000 roles (~15%) was announced on August 1, 2024, not 2023.
What kind of event
A large, multi-phase restructuring of core Intel — spanning management layers, business exits/slowdowns, attrition and involuntary reductions — not a single one-time layoff.
What number is confirmed
~15,000 / 15% was company-announced (August 2024). The July 2026 DCAI cuts were confirmed by Intel but the number was not disclosed. Two different 2025 figures circulate and both are correct, because they measure different populations: Intel targeted about 75,000 in its CORE workforce by the end of 2025, while its 10-K reports a TOTAL workforce of 85,100 at 27 December 2025 — and footnotes that the total “includes our core Intel workforce as well as employees at Mobileye and other subsidiaries.” The roughly 10,000 difference is subsidiary staff, not a discrepancy. Intel also states that its reduction initiatives cut the core workforce by about 15% by the end of fiscal 2025 relative to its Q2 2025 headcount.
Who appears most affected
Broad across engineering, manufacturing, sales/marketing and management, at major U.S. sites (Oregon/Hillsboro, Arizona/Chandler, California/Santa Clara, New Mexico); most recently the Data Center & AI unit in July 2026. Confirm your site and org.
What to verify first
Whether you're offered a voluntary program or an involuntary separation, your official termination date, your pension/retirement eligibility, and your equity vesting.

Current status as of August 26, 2026

Classification: Ongoing restructuring

Confirmed

  • July 2026: fresh layoffs in the Data Center & AI (DCAI) unit ahead of Q2 earnings; Intel confirmed the cuts but did not disclose the number.
  • September 2025: 669 Oregon employees cut (official WARN), effective September 16, 2025.
  • August 2024: ~15,000 roles (~15%) announced, part of a $10B cost-reduction plan (CEO Pat Gelsinger).
  • Total headcount was 85,100 at 27 December 2025 (FY2025 10-K), down from about 132,000 in 2022. Intel's own footnote is essential to reading that number: it “includes our core Intel workforce as well as employees at Mobileye and other subsidiaries”, which is why it sits about 10,000 above the ~75,000 core-Intel target for the same date.
  • FY2025 10-K: “These headcount reduction initiatives reduced our core Intel workforce by approximately 15% by the end of fiscal 2025, as compared to our Q2 2025 ending employee headcount.” Intel recorded $2.2 billion of restructuring charges in 2025, after $2.8 billion in 2024.

Reported / proposed (not confirmed)

  • Intel targeted about 75,000 CORE employees by the end of 2025 (company-stated). Do not compare that against the 85,100 total headcount as though one contradicted the other — the total counts Mobileye and other subsidiary employees and the core figure does not. The DCAI count for July 2026 was not disclosed.
  • Some 2025 reporting indicated changed separation terms for certain involuntary reductions versus earlier voluntary programs — verify your specific offer.

Intel snapshot

Legal employer nameIntel Corporation
Common nameIntel
Parent companyNone (independent)
Covered subsidiariesIntel Foundry, Altera (majority stake), Mobileye (majority stake)
IndustrySemiconductors
HeadquartersSanta Clara, California, United States
TickerINTC (NASDAQ)
Employee base85,100 total at year-end 2025 — a figure that includes Mobileye and other subsidiaries, not just core Intel (which Intel targeted at ~75,000) (as of December 27, 2025)
Latest verified eventFresh layoffs in the Data Center & AI (DCAI) unit — July 20, 2026
Historical H-1B sponsorYes (federal data)
Source confidenceHigh confidence
Guide last reviewedSeptember 17, 2026 by Deepak Middha

Intel layoff timeline

Correcting a common error first: Intel's widely cited '15% / ~15,000' cut was announced on August 1, 2024, not in 2023. It was followed by a deeper 2025 restructuring under a new CEO. Rounds are listed newest first; confirm your site and org.

Fresh layoffs in the Data Center & AI (DCAI) unit

July 20, 2026medium
LayoffCompany-announcedAffected: undisclosed (reported to reach hundreds globally)
Affected divisions
Data Center & AI Group (DCAI)
Affected roles
Server / data-center engineering, AI / accelerator, Product
Locations
Global (incl. U.S. sites; limited Israel impact)

Company-stated reason: Reported days ahead of Intel's Q2 2026 earnings, the cuts continue CEO Lip-Bu Tan's turnaround. Intel confirmed the reductions but did not disclose the number; the DCAI group had reported $5.05B in Q1 2026 revenue, up 22% year over year. [1]

What this means for you: This hit a growing, higher-revenue unit, so strong division performance is not protection. Intel did not disclose the count — confirm whether your specific team is affected and check your site's WARN database.

669 Oregon employees cut (official WARN), effective September 16, 2025

September 5, 2025high
LayoffOfficially filedAffected: 669 (Oregon)
Affected divisions
Multiple Oregon operations
Affected roles
Engineering, Operations
Locations
Hillsboro, OR, Aloha, OR, four Oregon locations
Effective date
September 16, 2025

Company-stated reason: Part of Intel's 2025 workforce reduction under CEO Lip-Bu Tan, documented in official Oregon WARN filings (Intel's largest U.S. site is in Hillsboro). [2],[3]

What this means for you: This is a concretely documented WARN event — search the Oregon HECC WARN list for your location and effective date, and confirm whether you're in a voluntary or involuntary program.

2025 restructuring under CEO Lip-Bu Tan — toward ~75,000 core employees

July 8, 2025high
RestructuringCompany-announcedAffected: Core Intel targeted to ~75,000 by end-2025 (from ~124,800 at end-2023)
Affected divisions
Management layers, Engineering, Manufacturing/operations, Sales & marketing, Non-core businesses
Affected roles
Managers, Engineers, Operations, Sales/marketing
Locations
Oregon (Hillsboro), Arizona (Chandler), California (Santa Clara), New Mexico, Other U.S. sites

Company-stated reason: Under CEO Lip-Bu Tan, Intel accelerated its 2025 reductions — beginning with Oregon-site layoffs in July 2025 (an initial WARN notice later revised upward to about 2,392) — while flattening management, focusing on core products and foundry, and targeting about 75,000 core employees by year-end. [5],[6],[10]

What this means for you: Because Intel has run both voluntary and involuntary reductions, first confirm which you're being offered — a voluntary/enhanced-retirement program and an involuntary RIF have very different terms and deadlines. Verify your pension/retirement eligibility before deciding. Intel measures this reduction against its CORE workforce, not its total. Its FY2025 10-K says the initiatives “reduced our core Intel workforce by approximately 15% by the end of fiscal 2025, as compared to our Q2 2025 ending employee headcount” — while the total it reports for the same date, 85,100, includes Mobileye and other subsidiaries. If you worked for a subsidiary, you were never inside the population that the ~75,000 target described.

~15,000 roles (~15%) — part of a $10B cost-reduction plan

August 1, 2024high
LayoffCompany-announcedAffected: ~15,000 (~15%) (~15%)
Affected divisions
Company-wide, Engineering, Sales & marketing, General & administrative
Affected roles
Broad — engineering, operations, corporate
Locations
Company-wide (major U.S. sites)

Company-stated reason: Then-CEO Pat Gelsinger cited high costs, weak margins and slower revenue growth, and set a goal of about $10 billion in cost savings for 2025. Intel also cut its dividend around this time. [4]

What this means for you: This announcement opened Intel's current restructuring era. It initially featured voluntary separation and enhanced-retirement offers at some sites — historically generous — so if you were offered one, understand the trade-off versus waiting for an involuntary package.

What changed between rounds

Two Intel headcounts, both correct

You will find Intel's end-2025 workforce quoted as roughly 75,000 in some places and 85,100 in others, and neither is wrong. Intel's FY2025 Form 10-K reports 85,100 people as of 27 December 2025 and footnotes exactly what that covers: “Employee headcount includes our core Intel workforce as well as employees at Mobileye and other subsidiaries.” The ~75,000 is the target Intel set for core Intel alone. The roughly 10,000 gap between them is subsidiary employment, chiefly Mobileye — so a reduction measured against the core number will always look larger than one measured against the total. When you see an Intel headcount cited without saying which of the two it is, that is the first thing to establish.

Correcting the date: August 2024, not 2023

Intel's '15% / ~15,000' figure is frequently mis-dated to 2023. It was announced on August 1, 2024, alongside a $10 billion cost-reduction goal and a dividend cut. Getting the date right matters because the terms, leadership and rationale evolved through 2025.

Gelsinger era vs. Tan era

The August 2024 cut came under CEO Pat Gelsinger as part of the IDM/foundry turnaround. After Lip-Bu Tan became CEO in 2025, the restructuring went deeper and more structural — flattening management, focusing on core products and Intel Foundry, and targeting roughly 75,000 core employees by year-end 2025. If you're evaluating an offer, know which phase and leadership approach it belongs to.

Voluntary programs vs. involuntary RIFs — and pensions

Intel has historically used voluntary separation and enhanced-retirement programs, whose terms scale with tenure and can be substantial for long-tenured employees. Some 2025 reporting suggested certain involuntary reductions carried different terms. Intel also has a longer-tenured workforce with pension and retirement-plan exposure at some sites, so retirement-eligibility timing can change the math dramatically — verify your specific program and eligibility.

WARN notice research

Intel operates large U.S. campuses, so WARN activity is very site-specific. Its biggest U.S. site is in Hillsboro, Oregon; it also has major operations in Arizona (Chandler), California (Santa Clara) and New Mexico. Search the official WARN database for your actual site's state — Oregon publishes a searchable WARN list, and other states publish their own. Don't assume Intel's California headquarters state applies to your site.

Legal employerStateCity / worksiteNotice dateEffectiveAffectedOfficial filing
Intel CorporationOregonHillsboro / Aloha — Four Oregon locations (incl. 2501 NE Century Blvd & 2111 NE 25th Ave, Hillsboro; 3585 SW 198th Ave, Aloha)August 25, 2025September 16, 2025669Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC)
Intel CorporationOregonHillsboro / Aloha — Oregon locations (25th Avenue, Hillsboro among sites)July 8, 2025July 15, 20252392Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC)

Check the official WARN database for your worksite state:

Historically reported Intel severance packages

Historically reported Intel severance and separation programs. Intel has used both standard involuntary severance and voluntary/enhanced-retirement programs; terms differ by program and round, and 2025 reporting suggested changes — treat the below as historical context, not your guaranteed offer.

U.S. employees (2024–2025 programs: voluntary separation, enhanced retirement, and involuntary RIF) · 2024

Officially documentedmedium

United States

Intel's SEC filings document retirement and separation agreements and an enhanced-retirement program used during this restructuring. Historically, Intel severance has combined an income component (a base number of weeks plus additional weeks per year of service), medical/benefit continuation and stock/retirement provisions, with voluntary and enhanced-retirement offers scaling with tenure for long-service employees. Some 2025 reporting indicated certain involuntary reductions carried less generous terms than earlier voluntary programs — confirm which program applies to you. [7],[5]

IncomeHistorically a base number of weeks plus additional weeks per year of service (exact formula varies by program/round — confirm yours)
Enhanced retirementVoluntary/enhanced-retirement offers scaled with tenure for eligible long-service employees (SEC-documented program)
MedicalBenefit/medical continuation provisions — confirm your coverage end date and any subsidy
StockUnvested RSU treatment set by the equity plan and award agreement; retirement eligibility can affect equity treatment — confirm
Pension / retirement plansPension and retirement-plan eligibility can materially change the value of leaving now vs. later — verify eligibility dates
ReleaseA release is typically required; OWBPA review/revocation windows apply if 40+ and for group programs
The variable that matters: which programme you are in, not just your tenureIntel has run voluntary separation, enhanced retirement and involuntary reduction programmes side by side, and the terms differ materially between them. Establish in writing which programme your separation falls under before you compare notes with a colleague — a voluntary or retirement-eligible package and an involuntary one are not the same offer, and 2025 reporting suggested the involuntary terms were less generous.
Retirement eligibility can be worth more than the severanceFor long-service Intel employees, crossing a pension or retiree-benefit eligibility threshold can change the value of leaving on one date rather than another by more than the entire cash severance. If you are anywhere near such a date, establish exactly where you stand before agreeing a separation date — this is the single highest-leverage question a long-tenured Intel employee can ask.
Income component: base weeks plus weeks per yearIntel's historic structure combined a base number of weeks with additional weeks per year of service, which means both your starting figure and your multiplier are programme-specific. Ask for both numbers explicitly rather than accepting a single total — you cannot check a total you cannot decompose.

Note: Past packages provide historical context only. Intel has run multiple program types (voluntary separation, enhanced retirement, involuntary RIF) with different terms, and 2025 reporting suggested changes. Do not assume a prior colleague's package matches yours — confirm your specific program, formula, pension/retirement eligibility and deadlines with HR in writing.

What signing asks you to give up

Severance is almost never a gift. In the United States it is nearly always consideration — payment in exchange for a release of claims, which is the operative half of the document and the half that is easy to skim past. Before you sign Intel's agreement, know what the release actually covers and what it cannot.

Typically waivedClaims arising from your employment and its end — discrimination, wrongful termination, harassment and retaliation — usually including claims you do not yet know about.
Wage claims — treated differentlyDo not assume unpaid wages are released just because the agreement is broadly worded. Whether a statutory wage claim can be released at all varies by the statute and by your state. Federal minimum-wage and overtime rights under the FLSA are the clearest example: the Supreme Court held that allowing employees to waive statutory wages “would nullify the purposes of the Act,” and extended the same reasoning to liquidated damages (Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945)). Congress provided a specific route instead — payment supervised by the Secretary of Labor, which on payment in full does waive the private right of action (29 U.S.C. § 216(c)) — and courts commonly require court approval or a bona fide dispute for anything else, with the rules differing between circuits. Several states go further: California, for example, voids a release of a wage claim taken before the wages are paid, and bars its wage-payment rules from being “contravened or set aside by a private agreement” (Cal. Lab. Code §§ 206.5, 219). If you are owed final pay, PTO, commissions or overtime, treat that as a separate question from the release and get advice on your own state's rule.
Often added alongsideNon-disparagement, confidentiality about the agreement, cooperation clauses, return-of-property terms, and sometimes non-solicit or non-compete restrictions. These are obligations you take on, not claims you release — read them separately.
Cannot be waivedYour right to file a charge with the EEOC, or to take part in an EEOC investigation. Federal regulation is explicit: no waiver agreement may include a provision prohibiting anyone from filing a charge — including a challenge to the validity of the waiver itself— or from participating in an EEOC proceeding, and none may impose a penalty or condition that adversely affects that right (29 C.F.R. § 1625.22(i)). Vested retirement benefits, unemployment eligibility and, in most states, workers' compensation claims also sit outside a release.
If you are 40 or older“An individual may not waive any right or claim under this chapter unless the waiver is knowing and voluntary” — and the ADEA sets out what that requires at a minimum (29 U.S.C. § 626(f)(1)). Which consideration period applies depends on how the offer is made:
  • At least 21 days to consider the agreement — the general rule for a waiver offered to you individually (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(i)).
  • At least 45 days instead, where the waiver is requested in connection with an exit incentive or other employment termination program offered to a group or class of employees (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(ii)). Whether your separation is part of such a program is a factual question about how the employer structured and offered the waiver — a company announcing a layoff round does not by itself establish that every separation agreement in it is part of a group program.
  • At least 7 days after you sign in which you may revoke, and the agreement cannot become effective or enforceable until that period expires (§ 626(f)(1)(G)). This one cannot be shortened.
  • Where a waiver is requested in connection with such a group program, the employer must also inform you in writing, at the start of the consideration period, of the class, unit or group covered, the eligibility factors and any time limits, plus the job titles and ages of everyone eligible or selected and the ages of everyone in the same job classification or organizational unit who was not selected (§ 626(f)(1)(H)).
Do not assume which period applies to you. Read the agreement itself — it normally states the consideration period on its face — and check whether you were given decisional-unit information alongside it. If the stated window is shorter than you expected, or group disclosures are absent where the waiver appears to be tied to a group program, that is worth raising with an employment lawyer before you sign rather than assuming either 21 or 45 days is your entitlement.

If those requirements are not met, the age-claim waiver does not hold. The Supreme Court put it plainly in Oubre v. Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422 (1998): a release that does not comply with the OWBPA “is unenforceable against her insofar as it purports to waive or release her ADEA claim… the release cannot bar her ADEA suit, irrespective of the validity of the contract as to other claims” — and she did not have to give the money back first. Note the second half of that sentence: the defect invalidates the ADEA waiver, not automatically every other provision of the agreement, which may still bind you. It is also the employer's burden to prove a waiver was knowing and voluntary (§ 626(f)(3)), which is why a shortened window or a missing group disclosure is worth raising before you sign rather than after. Severance agreements over 40 (OWBPA) covers this in full, and severance agreement red flags covers the clauses worth pushing back on. This is general information, not legal advice about your situation.

Past packages provide historical context only. Your terms may differ by layoff round, role, level, tenure, location, legal employer and separation agreement. If you are 40 or older, review the severance agreement over 40 (OWBPA) guide before signing.

Intel-specific compensation issues

Pension and retirement-plan eligibility

Intel is unusual among big tech for having a longer-tenured workforce with pension and retirement-plan exposure at some sites, plus programs like a minimum pension benefit, deferred compensation (SERPLUS) and a 401(k). Whether you're 'retirement-eligible' at your termination date can dramatically change what you keep — including retiree medical, pension vesting and equity treatment. Get a benefits/retirement counselor to run your specific dates before you accept any program. [7]

RSUs and bonus timing

The treatment of unvested Intel RSUs is controlled by the applicable equity plan, your award agreement and your separation terms, and retirement-eligibility can affect treatment for some grants. Intel also pays an annual performance bonus (APB) and other incentives whose eligibility can hinge on your separation date — confirm any earned-but-unpaid bonus and your next vest date. [7]

Voluntary program vs. involuntary package

The single most important Intel-specific question is which type of separation you're offered. A voluntary separation or enhanced-retirement offer usually has a fixed acceptance window and different (often better, for long-tenured staff) terms than an involuntary RIF. Do not accept a voluntary offer under time pressure without modeling the involuntary alternative and your retirement math. [5]

Health insurance, benefits and final pay

  • Confirm your exact coverage end date and whether any retiree-medical benefit applies given your age/tenure.
  • Compare COBRA vs. ACA Marketplace; losing job-based coverage generally creates a Marketplace Special Enrollment Period, available for 60 days before and 60 days after the loss of coverage.
  • If retirement-eligible, get pension, retiree-medical and 401(k) decisions reviewed together — they interact.
  • Check HSA/FSA balances, deferred-compensation (SERPLUS) elections, and dependent-coverage dates.
Final pay, unused PTO, bonus and commission treatment depend on your work state, company policy, legal employer, separation agreement and pay classification — there is no single nationwide rule (for example, some states treat accrued PTO as earned wages, others leave it to policy). Verify with these tools:

H-1B and employment-visa considerations

Historical sponsorship: YesIntel Corporation

Federal H-1B petition and labor-condition-application data shows Intel Corporation among significant U.S. H-1B sponsors, concentrated at engineering-heavy sites. That does not guarantee sponsorship for every role or site going forward. If you're on an H-1B and were affected, the regulation provides an eligible H-1B worker a discretionary period of up to 60 consecutive days following cessation of the employment on which the classification was based, or until the authorized validity period ends, whichever is shorter, and DHS may shorten or eliminate it. A payroll, severance or employer-labelled termination date does not automatically resolve when that cessation occurred, so confirm the facts promptly with qualified immigration counsel. Note too that a voluntary versus involuntary separation can affect the analysis. [8]

  • For an eligible H-1B worker, the regulation provides a discretionary period of up to 60 consecutive days following cessation of the employment on which the classification was based, or until the authorized validity period ends, whichever is shorter (8 C.F.R. § 214.1(l)(2)). It is available once during each authorized validity period, and DHS may shorten or eliminate it.
  • A payroll, severance or employer-labelled termination date does not automatically resolve when that cessation occurred. Confirm the facts promptly with qualified immigration counsel rather than counting days from the date on your letter.
  • The period may allow a transfer, a change of status or departure, but it is not work authorization in itself — unless otherwise authorized, you may not work during it.
  • Ask about internal transfer and subsidiary transfer options, employment-verification letters, and any I-140/green-card process impact.

This is general information, not case-specific legal advice. Consult a qualified immigration attorney about your situation.

Alumni and former-employee networks

Intel has a deep alumni base across hardware, manufacturing and software, especially around Oregon, Arizona and Silicon Valley. Use the shared alumni directory to find former-employee networks and referral threads; long-tenured Intel alumni are often well connected across the semiconductor industry.

Intel alumni network

Intel alumni groups across hardware and software.

Alumni network · LinkedIn alumni search · opens a public LinkedIn people search · link checked 2026-08-26

Open

Communities beyond Intel

  • Layoffs.fyi

    Tech layoff tracker with a community list of laid-off talent open to work.

    Visit
  • VetsinTech

    Nonprofit connecting military veterans to tech training, employment and a national network.

    Visit
  • Disability:IN

    Business network for disability inclusion — employer directory and a talent programme.

    Visit
All alumni networks and ERGs for Intel

Questions to ask Intel HR

  1. 1. Am I being offered a voluntary program / enhanced retirement, or an involuntary separation — and what is the acceptance deadline?

    Why it matters: This is the most consequential Intel-specific question.

  2. 2. What is my official termination date, and does it affect my retirement/pension eligibility?

  3. 3. Am I retirement-eligible, and if so what happens to retiree medical, pension and equity?

    Why it matters: Retirement eligibility can change the whole calculation.

  4. 4. How is my severance calculated (base weeks plus weeks per year of service), and is it lump sum or salary continuation?

  5. 5. What happens to my unvested RSUs and any earned-but-unpaid annual bonus?

  6. 6. When exactly does my health coverage end, and is any retiree or subsidized coverage available?

  7. 7. What are my SERPLUS / deferred-compensation distribution options and deadlines?

  8. 8. Does the release cover Intel subsidiaries and affiliates, and what is my review/revocation window?

  9. 9. If I'm on a work visa, who provides employment-verification and immigration letters, and by when?

  10. 10. How will Intel code my separation for unemployment purposes?

  11. 11. Is outplacement or reskilling support included, and for how long?

Get the important answers in writing where you can.

Employee action plan

First 24 hours

  • Do firstDetermine whether your offer is voluntary/enhanced-retirement or involuntary, and note every deadline.
  • Do firstSave permitted personal documents — offer letter, RSU grants/vesting, pension/retirement statements, SERPLUS elections, pay stubs, benefits summaries — before access ends.
  • Do firstIf retirement-eligible or near-eligible, flag it immediately and request a benefits/retirement review.
  • If on an H-1B or other visa, start your grace-period review today.

First 7 days

  • Do firstModel voluntary vs. involuntary outcomes, including pension/retiree-medical and equity, with a benefits counselor or financial advisor.
  • Map RSU vests and any bonus eligibility against your termination date.
  • Search your site state's official WARN database (Oregon, Arizona, California, New Mexico).
  • Confirm coverage end date; compare COBRA vs. Marketplace vs. retiree medical if eligible.
  • Reconnect with Intel and semiconductor-industry alumni for referrals.

First 30 days

  • Do firstFinalize pension/retirement and deferred-comp elections within their deadlines.
  • File for unemployment in your work state; confirm how severance timing affects benefits.
  • Decide health coverage before deadlines; compare your 401(k) options and any pension decisions.
  • If on a visa, finalize transfer/change-of-status with counsel inside your grace period.

Related LayoffNext tools

Intel layoffs — frequently asked questions

How many employees did Intel lay off?+
Intel announced about 15,000 roles (roughly 15% of its workforce) on August 1, 2024, as part of a $10 billion cost-reduction plan. In 2025 it went further under new CEO Lip-Bu Tan, targeting about 75,000 core employees by year-end — down from about 124,800 core employees at the end of 2023. The total decline blends layoffs, attrition and business changes. [4],[5],[6]
Were the Intel layoffs in 2023 or 2024?+
The widely cited '15% / ~15,000' cut was announced on August 1, 2024, not 2023 — a common mistake. It came under then-CEO Pat Gelsinger alongside a $10 billion cost-reduction goal and a dividend cut, and was followed by deeper 2025 restructuring under CEO Lip-Bu Tan. [4]
What severance does Intel offer?+
Intel has used both standard involuntary severance (historically a base number of weeks plus additional weeks per year of service, with medical and stock provisions) and voluntary/enhanced-retirement programs that scale with tenure. Its SEC filings document the retirement and separation agreements. Some 2025 reporting suggested certain involuntary reductions had different terms — confirm which program applies to you and get your formula in writing. [7],[5]
How do Intel pensions and retirement benefits affect a layoff?+
Intel has a longer-tenured workforce with pension and retirement-plan exposure at some sites, plus deferred compensation (SERPLUS) and a 401(k). Whether you're retirement-eligible at your termination date can change retiree-medical access, pension value and equity treatment. Have a benefits or financial advisor model your specific dates before accepting any program. [7]
Did Intel file WARN notices?+
Yes. Intel filed official Oregon WARN notices for its 2025 layoffs — including 669 employees across four Oregon locations effective September 16, 2025 (an earlier July 2025 filing was revised upward to about 2,392). Its largest U.S. site is Hillsboro, Oregon, which publishes a searchable WARN list; Intel also has major operations in Arizona, California and New Mexico. Search the official WARN database for your own site's state, and use the LayoffNext WARN Tracker as a starting point. [3],[2],[9]
Does Intel sponsor H-1B workers?+
Yes, historically. Federal H-1B and labor-condition-application data shows Intel Corporation among significant U.S. sponsors, concentrated at engineering-heavy sites. That does not guarantee sponsorship for every role going forward. If you're on an H-1B and were affected, act quickly on grace-period options, and note that a voluntary versus involuntary separation can affect timing. [8]
Should I take Intel's voluntary separation or wait?+
That depends on your tenure, retirement eligibility and risk tolerance — not on a generic rule. Voluntary/enhanced-retirement offers usually have fixed windows and can be generous for long-tenured staff, but an involuntary package or staying may be better in some cases. Model both outcomes (including pension and retiree medical) with a benefits counselor before the deadline; this is educational information, not individualized advice. [5]
Where can former Intel employees find alumni networks?+
Intel has a deep alumni base across hardware, manufacturing and software, especially around Oregon, Arizona and Silicon Valley. Use the LayoffNext Alumni & ERG Network directory to find former-employee networks and referral threads; long-tenured Intel alumni tend to be well connected across the semiconductor industry.

Sources and methodology

Every material figure on this page references a numbered source below. We prioritize company and SEC filings, official government and WARN data, and federal immigration data, followed by reputable reporting; anonymous posts are not used as a sole source for any material claim. Confidence labels describe source strength, not certainty for your situation: supported by company, sec, government, or multiple strong sources. (High); credible reporting exists but important details remain incomplete. (Medium); public evidence is incomplete or primarily secondary. (Limited).

  1. Benzinga · July 20, 2026 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: jul-2026-dcai, count-undisclosed-hundreds

  2. KGW / OPB · September 5, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: oregon-warn-669

  3. Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) · August 25, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: oregon-warn-669, warn-verification-oregon

  4. Reuters (reported widely, incl. Al Jazeera) · August 1, 2024 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: aug-2024-15000, 15-percent, 10b-cost-plan, gelsinger

  5. OPB (Oregon Public Broadcasting) · July 11, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: 2025-restructuring, oregon-reductions, tan

  6. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · July 25, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: headcount-decline, restructuring-charges, core-75000-target

  7. Intel Corporation via SEC / Investor Relations · January 31, 2025 · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: enhanced-retirement, separation-agreement-structure

  8. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: h1b-historical-sponsorship

  9. Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) · Accessed July 24, 2026 · primary

    Supports: warn-verification-oregon

  10. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · January 23, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: “our highly skilled workforce, which was comprised of 85,100 people as of December 27, 2025”, footnoted: “Employee headcount includes our core Intel workforce as well as employees at Mobileye and other subsidiaries.”, “These headcount reduction initiatives reduced our core Intel workforce by approximately 15% by the end of fiscal 2025, as compared to our Q2 2025 ending employee headcount.”, Restructuring charges of $2.2 billion in 2025 and $2.8 billion in 2024, Undesired turnover of 7.9% in 2025, up from 5.9% in 2024

Report a correction

Believe something is inaccurate or outdated? Email support@layoffnext.com.

Methodology & standards

How we research · Editorial standards

Important disclaimer

This guide is an educational summary of publicly available information about Intel and is not legal, financial, tax, immigration, benefits or employment advice. It is not affiliated with, authorized by, or endorsed by Intel. Severance, benefits, equity, WARN coverage and legal rights vary by role, level, location, tenure, legal employer, agreement and applicable law, and companies change terms between rounds. Verify your specifics with HR, official notices, state agencies and qualified professionals. See our full disclaimer.

Deepak Middha, Founder of LayoffNext
Founder of LayoffNext

Deepak Middha is the founder of LayoffNext and a Chartered Accountant (ICAI, India). A U.S. immigrant with nearly 20 years of experience — and 17 years in hedge fund and private equity administration, including as Vice President of Fund Accounting at NAV Fund Administration Group and Associate Director of Private Equity and Real Estate at SS&C Technologies — he builds free, plain-language layoff tools and guides for employees, H-1B workers, and immigrant families.

Updated September 17, 2026
LayoffNext Weekly

Layoff recovery tips for employees

Get practical layoff recovery tips, financial planning reminders, job-search guidance, and new free tools.

Free weekly email. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Learn what's inside