You're on the U.S. site — severance, unemployment, COBRA, WARN, H-1B.In India? Switch to the India site →

PayPal Layoffs, Severance and WARN: The Employee Guide

Ongoing restructuringHigh confidenceLatest verified event: April 29, 2026· Reviewed September 17, 2026

PayPal is in an active, multi-year restructuring, not a historical one. Its most recent filing records severance charges for a reorganization announced in April 2026 and flags more to come in the second half of the year — while disclosing no headcount for any round since January 2024.

Educational, employee-first summary of publicly available information — not legal, financial, tax or immigration advice, and not affiliated with or endorsed by PayPal. Verify your specific situation with HR, official notices and qualified professionals.

Quick answer

Latest verified development
PayPal announced a strategic reorganization on 29 April 2026, moving to a three-business operating model and replacing part of its executive team. In the quarter that followed it recorded $44 million of restructuring charges for that reorganization, “primarily employee severance and benefits costs including stock-based compensation.” PayPal has not published a headcount for it — and says a first phase of actions running to the end of 2026 could carry a further transformation charge of roughly $120–140 million.
What kind of event
A continuous programme rather than one event: four separate restructuring plans appear in PayPal's filings across 2023, 2024 and 2025, and the April 2026 reorganization is a fifth. PayPal discloses the cost of each and, since 2024, no longer discloses headcounts at all.
What number is confirmed
There is no company headcount for 2025 or 2026 — PayPal quantifies these plans in dollars, not people, and inventing a number from the charges would be guesswork. What is confirmed: global headcount fell from ~27,200 at the end of 2023 to ~23,800 at the end of 2025, a net decline of roughly 3,400 that blends layoffs, attrition and hiring. The last company percentage was the “approximately 9%” of January 2024, which expressly included eliminating unfilled roles.
Who appears most affected
PayPal has not published an org-level breakdown for any round. The 2Q 2025 plan pairs workforce optimization with exiting data centres, so technology and infrastructure roles are implicated; the April 2026 reorganization reshaped the consumer, small-business and payment-services organisations at leadership level. The only site-level number in the public record remains the 311 in the January 2024 California WARN filing.
What to verify first
Which restructuring plan your separation was recorded under (the plans have different timelines and different severance accruals), your exact separation and benefits-end dates, your unvested RSU vest schedule, and whether a state WARN notice covered your worksite.

Current status as of August 26, 2026

Classification: Ongoing restructuring

Confirmed

  • 29 April 2026: PayPal announced a strategic reorganization into three businesses — Checkout Solutions & PayPal, Consumer Financial Services & Venmo, and Payment Services & Crypto — alongside executive departures and appointments.
  • Form 10-Q for Q2 2026: “we recorded $44 million in restructuring charges associated with the strategic reorganization announced in April 2026. These charges were primarily employee severance and benefits costs including stock-based compensation.”
  • The same 10-Q: the programme targets at least $1.5 billion in gross annualized run-rate savings over two to three years; a first phase of actions expected to complete by the end of 2026 could produce a transformation-related charge of approximately $120 million to $140 million in the second half of 2026.
  • 2Q 2025 Plan: a “large-scale initiative” to reengineer technology infrastructure and “optimize our workforce”, including exiting certain data centres. Charges of $102 million in 2025 ($96m employee severance and benefits, $6m other). Its workforce component was completed in the second quarter of 2026; the technology component runs to 2028.
  • 1Q 2025 Plan: “management initiated a workforce reduction to ensure compliance with a new regulation impacting operations in an international market” — $36 million in 2025, completed in the third quarter of 2025.
  • 1Q 2024 Plan (the 9% announcement): $307 million of restructuring charges in 2024, including employee severance and benefits and stock-based compensation, substantially completed in Q4 2024.
  • 1Q 2023 Plan: $122 million of restructuring charges in 2023, primarily employee severance and benefits.
  • Headcount of approximately 23,800 globally as of 31 December 2025 — 46% Americas, 42% Asia-Pacific, 12% Europe and the Middle East, with approximately 9,600 in the United States. It was approximately 27,200 (~10,200 US) two years earlier.
  • California WARN filing dated 30 January 2024: 311 workers in Santa Clara County, effective 30 March 2024.

Reported / proposed (not confirmed)

  • PayPal has published no headcount for the 1Q 2025, 2Q 2025 or April 2026 actions. Any circulating number for them is an estimate, not a company figure — and a severance charge cannot be converted into a body count, because the charge per person varies with tenure, level and country.
  • Reporting on 30 January 2024 put that round at about 2,500 jobs. That figure is not in PayPal's memo and is not reconcilable with it, because the 9% expressly includes unfilled roles.
  • Reporting on 31 January 2023 put the earlier round at about 2,000 people, or roughly 7% of the workforce.
  • No round since 2022 has a published per-person severance formula.

PayPal snapshot

Legal employer namePayPal Holdings, Inc.
Common namePayPal
Parent companyNone (independent)
Covered subsidiariesBraintree, Venmo, Xoom, Hyperwallet, Zettle
IndustryDigital payments and financial technology
HeadquartersSan Jose, California, United States
TickerPYPL (NASDAQ)
Employee base~23,800 employees globally (~9,600 in the US) (as of December 31, 2025)
Latest verified eventApril 2026: strategic reorganization into three businesses; $44m of severance charges booked in Q2 — April 29, 2026
Historical H-1B sponsorYes (federal data)
Source confidenceHigh confidence
Guide last reviewedSeptember 17, 2026 by Deepak Middha

PayPal layoff timeline

PayPal is a useful case study in reading a layoff record precisely, for two opposite reasons. Its 2024 announcement gave a percentage that counted jobs nobody held, so the headline overstates the people affected. Everything since gives a dollar figure and no percentage at all, so it understates nothing — it simply refuses to say. The plans below are named as PayPal names them in its own filings, because that is the label your separation paperwork is most likely to match.

April 2026: strategic reorganization into three businesses; $44m of severance charges booked in Q2

April 29, 2026high
RestructuringCompany-announcedAffected: no headcount disclosed — $44m in Q2 2026 charges, primarily severance and benefits
Affected divisions
Checkout Solutions & PayPal, Consumer Financial Services & Venmo, Payment Services & Crypto, Executive leadership
Affected roles
Not disclosed by PayPal
Locations
Not disclosed by PayPal

Company-stated reason: PayPal announced “a strategic reorganization of its business and executive leadership team to accelerate execution of its long-term growth priorities, streamline decision-making, and drive innovation”, moving to a simplified three-business operating model. In its 10-Q it describes the same programme as “realigning our operating structure and accelerating the adoption of artificial intelligence and automation across the company”, targeting at least $1.5 billion in gross annualized run-rate savings over two to three years. [8],[7],[6]

What this means for you: This round is quantified in dollars, not people. The $44 million booked in Q2 2026 is severance and benefits already recognised — but PayPal also says a first phase of actions running to the end of 2026 could add roughly $120–140 million more, so further reductions are anticipated rather than finished. If you are still employed, the useful question is which of the three new businesses your function now reports into.

Q2 2025 (“2Q 2025 Plan”): technology re-engineering and workforce optimization; $102m in 2025

July 29, 2025high
RestructuringOfficially filedAffected: no headcount disclosed — $96m of severance and benefits in 2025, ~$85m over the plan to date
Affected divisions
Technology and infrastructure, Data centre operations
Affected roles
Not disclosed by PayPal
Locations
Not disclosed by PayPal

Company-stated reason: “During the second quarter of 2025, management undertook a large-scale initiative (the ‘2Q 2025 Plan’) to reengineer our existing technology infrastructure to improve scalability, reduce network latency, decrease operational costs, and optimize our workforce… includes exiting certain data centers to migrate to more efficient cloud based solutions.” [5],[7]

What this means for you: Note the timeline revision, because it changes what you can infer. PayPal's FY2025 10-K said the workforce component would be substantially complete in 2027; the Q2 2026 10-Q says it was completed in the second quarter of 2026. The technology component still runs to 2028, so continuing data-centre exits are not the same thing as continuing layoffs under this plan.

Q1 2025 (“1Q 2025 Plan”): a regulatory-driven workforce reduction in one international market

April 29, 2025high
RestructuringOfficially filedAffected: no headcount disclosed — $36m of severance and benefits in 2025
Affected divisions
Not disclosed by PayPal
Affected roles
Not disclosed by PayPal
Locations
An unnamed international market

Company-stated reason: “During the first quarter of 2025, management initiated a workforce reduction to ensure compliance with a new regulation impacting operations in an international market.” [5]

What this means for you: This one is narrow and is easy to mistake for a general layoff round. PayPal ties it to a specific regulatory change in a single unnamed market, and records it as completed in the third quarter of 2025. If you were affected, your local statutory redundancy rules probably matter more to your outcome than anything in PayPal's US practice.

January 2024 (“1Q 2024 Plan”): approximately 9% of the global workforce, including unfilled roles

January 30, 2024high
LayoffCompany-announcedAffected: ~9% of workforce incl. open roles (company); 311 in California (WARN); ~2,500 reported; $307m in charges (~9%)
Affected divisions
Technology and product, Corporate functions
Affected roles
Not itemised by PayPal
Locations
Global, San Jose / Santa Clara County, California
Effective date
March 30, 2024

Company-stated reason: Alex Chriss's memo says PayPal needs "to drive more focus and efficiency, deploy automation, and consolidate our technology to reduce complexity and duplication," and that the reduction is intended to "right-size our business, allowing us to move with the speed needed to deliver for our customers and drive profitable growth." [1],[3],[5]

What this means for you: Read the phrase "and the elimination of open roles" carefully. A percentage that includes vacancies is not a headcount of people, and PayPal never published the split. If you are trying to establish how large the reduction was at your own site, the WARN filing is better evidence than any percentage.

January 2023 (“1Q 2023 Plan”): global workforce reduction, $122 million in restructuring charges

January 31, 2023high
LayoffPartially confirmedAffected: ~2,000 (~7%) reported — PayPal confirmed the programme and its cost, not the headcount (~7%)
Affected divisions
Multiple functions
Affected roles
Not itemised by PayPal
Locations
Global

Company-stated reason: PayPal's fiscal 2023 Form 10-K states that "during the first quarter of 2023, management initiated a global workforce reduction intended to focus resources on core strategic priorities, and improve our cost structure and operating efficiency." Then-CEO Dan Schulman's memo cited the challenging macro-economic environment. [2],[4]

What this means for you: The $122 million charge is company-confirmed and was recorded as primarily employee severance and benefits — useful evidence that severance was substantially funded, even though the per-person formula was never published. The programme was substantially complete by the fourth quarter of 2023.

What changed between rounds

The record does not stop in 2024

PayPal's last public layoff percentage is from January 2024, which is why most write-ups end there. The filings do not. Its FY2025 Form 10-K describes two further restructuring plans initiated in 2025, and its Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 records $44 million of severance and benefits charges for a strategic reorganization announced that April, with a further $120–140 million of transformation charges flagged for the second half of 2026. A company that has stopped announcing headcounts has not stopped restructuring.

Dollars, not people — and you cannot convert between them

From 2025 onward PayPal quantifies each plan by its cost: $36 million, $102 million, $44 million. It gives no headcount for any of them. The arithmetic that would turn a severance charge into a number of people does not work, because the charge per person swings with tenure, level, notice period and country — a plan concentrated in one high-notice European market costs far more per head than the same reduction in the US. Where you see a 2025 or 2026 PayPal headcount quoted anywhere, it is somebody's estimate.

A 9% that counts jobs nobody held

PayPal's 2024 memo says the reduction comes “through both direct reductions and the elimination of open roles.” Closing an unfilled requisition reduces planned headcount without anyone losing a job. Because PayPal never published the split between the two, the number of people actually laid off is smaller than 9% of 27,200 — by an unknown amount. Any article that converts the 9% straight into a body count has made an assumption PayPal did not make.

The WARN filing landed the same day as the memo

On 30 January 2024, the same day Alex Chriss wrote to employees, PayPal filed a California WARN notice covering 311 workers in Santa Clara County, effective 30 March 2024. It remains the only hard, company-attributable people-number attached to any PayPal round since 2022 — which is why a state filing is worth more to you here than a press headline.

The 2Q 2025 plan changed its own end date

Worth watching if you are still inside PayPal. The FY2025 10-K said the workforce component of the 2Q 2025 Plan would be substantially complete in 2027. Six months later the Q2 2026 10-Q said it completed in the second quarter of 2026 — and PayPal reversed $13 million of previously accrued severance in that quarter, which is what a company does when fewer separations happen than it provided for. The data-centre exits under the same plan still run to 2028.

Where PayPal's people actually are

Headcount was approximately 23,800 globally at the end of 2025 — 46% Americas, 42% Asia-Pacific, 12% Europe and the Middle East, with about 9,600 in the United States. Two years earlier it was approximately 27,200 with about 10,200 in the US. That is a net decline of roughly 3,400 across two years, blending every restructuring plan with ordinary attrition and continued hiring; it is not a layoff total, and it should not be quoted as one.

WARN notice research

PayPal's headquarters sit in San Jose, which places its largest US concentration in Santa Clara County — a county whose WARN filings are well documented by California's EDD. LayoffNext's own WARN ingest holds one PayPal filing, and it is an unusually clean one: filed the same day as the announcement, with a sixty-day gap to the effective date.

Legal employerStateCity / worksiteNotice dateEffectiveAffectedOfficial filing
PayPalCaliforniaSan Jose / Santa Clara County — Santa Clara County (site not itemised in the filing)January 30, 2024March 30, 2024311California Employment Development Department (EDD)

Check the official WARN database for your worksite state:

Historically reported PayPal severance packages

PayPal has never published a severance formula for either round. What it has published is the cost: $122 million in restructuring charges in 2023 and $121 million in 2022, recorded in its 10-K as primarily employee severance and benefits. That confirms severance existed and was funded at scale, and tells you nothing about your own entitlement. In the United States, severance is normally offered against a signed release of claims — which is the document to slow down for, particularly if you are 40 or over.

Employees affected by the January 2024 reduction · 2024

Reported / undisclosed

United States

No severance terms were published for the January 2024 round. PayPal's memo committed only to supporting employees' transitions "with the utmost respect, support, and compassion" and noted that decisions are subject to consultation where required by law. Where a California WARN notice applies, the sixty-day notice period runs alongside employment rather than replacing severance — check which you are being given. [1],[3]

Cash severanceNot published — request your calculation in writing, including how tenure is counted
WARN notice periodCalifornia WARN notice filed 30 January 2024, effective 30 March 2024. Notice pay and severance are different things — confirm which your offer contains
Release of claimsUS severance is generally conditioned on a release. If you are 40 or over, OWBPA review and revocation periods apply
EquityUnvested RSU treatment set by the equity plan and award agreement — check your next vest date against your separation date
How the separation was codedAsk which restructuring plan your exit was recorded under and what reason code was used; it affects rehire eligibility and how the separation is described to third parties

Note: PayPal published no severance terms for this round. This entry records that absence rather than inferring terms. Only your written separation agreement determines what you receive.

Employees affected by the first-quarter 2023 global workforce reduction · 2023

Reported / undisclosed

United States

PayPal's 10-K confirms $122 million in restructuring charges for 2023, "primarily... employee severance and benefits costs," substantially completed by the fourth quarter of 2023. Then-CEO Dan Schulman was reported as describing the packages as generous, but no schedule was published. The aggregate is company-confirmed; the individual terms are not. [2],[4]

Aggregate restructuring charge$122 million in 2023, primarily employee severance and benefits (company-confirmed, Form 10-K)
Cash severanceFormula not published — reported as tenure-based; request your own calculation in writing
Programme completionSubstantially completed by Q4 2023 per the 10-K — relevant if your separation date fell outside that window
Benefits continuationConfirm your benefits-termination date separately from your separation date
EquityConfirm treatment of unvested RSUs and any vest date falling close to separation

Note: The $122 million is a company-confirmed aggregate across many countries, not a per-person entitlement. PayPal never published a severance schedule for this round.

What signing asks you to give up

Severance is almost never a gift. In the United States it is nearly always consideration — payment in exchange for a release of claims, which is the operative half of the document and the half that is easy to skim past. Before you sign PayPal's agreement, know what the release actually covers and what it cannot.

Typically waivedClaims arising from your employment and its end — discrimination, wrongful termination, harassment and retaliation — usually including claims you do not yet know about.
Wage claims — treated differentlyDo not assume unpaid wages are released just because the agreement is broadly worded. Whether a statutory wage claim can be released at all varies by the statute and by your state. Federal minimum-wage and overtime rights under the FLSA are the clearest example: the Supreme Court held that allowing employees to waive statutory wages “would nullify the purposes of the Act,” and extended the same reasoning to liquidated damages (Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945)). Congress provided a specific route instead — payment supervised by the Secretary of Labor, which on payment in full does waive the private right of action (29 U.S.C. § 216(c)) — and courts commonly require court approval or a bona fide dispute for anything else, with the rules differing between circuits. Several states go further: California, for example, voids a release of a wage claim taken before the wages are paid, and bars its wage-payment rules from being “contravened or set aside by a private agreement” (Cal. Lab. Code §§ 206.5, 219). If you are owed final pay, PTO, commissions or overtime, treat that as a separate question from the release and get advice on your own state's rule.
Often added alongsideNon-disparagement, confidentiality about the agreement, cooperation clauses, return-of-property terms, and sometimes non-solicit or non-compete restrictions. These are obligations you take on, not claims you release — read them separately.
Cannot be waivedYour right to file a charge with the EEOC, or to take part in an EEOC investigation. Federal regulation is explicit: no waiver agreement may include a provision prohibiting anyone from filing a charge — including a challenge to the validity of the waiver itself— or from participating in an EEOC proceeding, and none may impose a penalty or condition that adversely affects that right (29 C.F.R. § 1625.22(i)). Vested retirement benefits, unemployment eligibility and, in most states, workers' compensation claims also sit outside a release.
If you are 40 or older“An individual may not waive any right or claim under this chapter unless the waiver is knowing and voluntary” — and the ADEA sets out what that requires at a minimum (29 U.S.C. § 626(f)(1)). Which consideration period applies depends on how the offer is made:
  • At least 21 days to consider the agreement — the general rule for a waiver offered to you individually (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(i)).
  • At least 45 days instead, where the waiver is requested in connection with an exit incentive or other employment termination program offered to a group or class of employees (§ 626(f)(1)(F)(ii)). Whether your separation is part of such a program is a factual question about how the employer structured and offered the waiver — a company announcing a layoff round does not by itself establish that every separation agreement in it is part of a group program.
  • At least 7 days after you sign in which you may revoke, and the agreement cannot become effective or enforceable until that period expires (§ 626(f)(1)(G)). This one cannot be shortened.
  • Where a waiver is requested in connection with such a group program, the employer must also inform you in writing, at the start of the consideration period, of the class, unit or group covered, the eligibility factors and any time limits, plus the job titles and ages of everyone eligible or selected and the ages of everyone in the same job classification or organizational unit who was not selected (§ 626(f)(1)(H)).
Do not assume which period applies to you. Read the agreement itself — it normally states the consideration period on its face — and check whether you were given decisional-unit information alongside it. If the stated window is shorter than you expected, or group disclosures are absent where the waiver appears to be tied to a group program, that is worth raising with an employment lawyer before you sign rather than assuming either 21 or 45 days is your entitlement.

If those requirements are not met, the age-claim waiver does not hold. The Supreme Court put it plainly in Oubre v. Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422 (1998): a release that does not comply with the OWBPA “is unenforceable against her insofar as it purports to waive or release her ADEA claim… the release cannot bar her ADEA suit, irrespective of the validity of the contract as to other claims” — and she did not have to give the money back first. Note the second half of that sentence: the defect invalidates the ADEA waiver, not automatically every other provision of the agreement, which may still bind you. It is also the employer's burden to prove a waiver was knowing and voluntary (§ 626(f)(3)), which is why a shortened window or a missing group disclosure is worth raising before you sign rather than after. Severance agreements over 40 (OWBPA) covers this in full, and severance agreement red flags covers the clauses worth pushing back on. This is general information, not legal advice about your situation.

Past packages provide historical context only. Your terms may differ by layoff round, role, level, tenure, location, legal employer and separation agreement. If you are 40 or older, review the severance agreement over 40 (OWBPA) guide before signing.

PayPal-specific compensation issues

How your separation is characterised

PayPal's 2024 framing split that round into direct reductions and eliminated open roles, and its later plans each carry their own internal name. None of that changes the fact that you held your job — an open role is by definition one nobody held, so it is not a category your own exit can fall into. What does vary is how PayPal codes the separation: role elimination, restructuring, position closure, or something else. That code is what a state unemployment agency reads, what a rehire screen checks, and what an employment-verification service repeats. Ask which plan and which reason code your separation was recorded under, and get the answer in writing. [1]

RSU vest dates against a March effective date

The California WARN notice gave an effective date of 30 March 2024, sixty days after notice. A notice period that spans a calendar quarter boundary frequently spans an RSU vest date too. If a tranche vests between your notice date and your separation date, whether you remain employed through it is a concrete question with a concrete dollar answer — raise it before you sign anything. [3]

Most PayPal employees are not in the United States

As of the end of 2023, roughly 17,000 of PayPal's approximately 27,200 people were outside the United States, with 42% in Asia-Pacific alone. Statutory notice, redundancy pay and consultation requirements in those jurisdictions are frequently more protective than US practice, and PayPal's memo expressly acknowledged that "all decisions are subject to consultation, where required by law." If you are outside the US, your local entitlements govern, not this page. [2],[1]

If you joined through Braintree, Venmo, Xoom, Hyperwallet or Zettle

PayPal has grown substantially by acquisition, and acquired employees sometimes carry retention agreements, different equity treatment or a service date that predates the acquisition. Establish which document governs your severance and how your tenure is calculated — your original offer, an acquisition retention agreement, or PayPal's standard policy are not necessarily the same thing. [2]

Health insurance, benefits and final pay

  • Get your benefits-termination date in writing and separately from your separation date. Where a WARN notice period applies you may remain employed and benefited through it, which shifts your COBRA and Marketplace clocks later than you might assume.
  • If your separation ran through the California WARN period, check whether you were paid through the effective date or paid in lieu — the two are treated differently for unemployment purposes in some circumstances.
  • PayPal published no outplacement commitment for either round. If career transition support was offered to you, confirm the provider and duration in writing rather than assuming a standard package.
  • If you are outside the United States, consult your local statutory entitlements — they are frequently more generous than anything described here.
Final pay, unused PTO, bonus and commission treatment depend on your work state, company policy, legal employer, separation agreement and pay classification — there is no single nationwide rule (for example, some states treat accrued PTO as earned wages, others leave it to policy). Verify with these tools:

H-1B and employment-visa considerations

Historical sponsorship: YesPayPal, Inc. (and affiliated US entities including Braintree, a division of PayPal, Inc.)

PayPal appears in federal H-1B petition data as an established sponsor, concentrated in its San Jose and Austin technology organisations. If you are on an H-1B, the operative date is your last day of employment, not your notification date — a discretionary grace period of up to 60 consecutive days may be available, or until your I-94 expires if that comes sooner. Because the January 2024 round ran with a sixty-day WARN notice period in California, your last day of employment may be materially later than the day you were notified. Get it in writing before you calculate anything. [2],[3]

  • For an eligible H-1B worker, the regulation provides a discretionary period of up to 60 consecutive days following cessation of the employment on which the classification was based, or until the authorized validity period ends, whichever is shorter (8 C.F.R. § 214.1(l)(2)). It is available once during each authorized validity period, and DHS may shorten or eliminate it.
  • A payroll, severance or employer-labelled termination date does not automatically resolve when that cessation occurred. Confirm the facts promptly with qualified immigration counsel rather than counting days from the date on your letter.
  • The period may allow a transfer, a change of status or departure, but it is not work authorization in itself — unless otherwise authorized, you may not work during it.
  • Ask about internal transfer and subsidiary transfer options, employment-verification letters, and any I-140/green-card process impact.

This is general information, not case-specific legal advice. Consult a qualified immigration attorney about your situation.

Alumni and former-employee networks

PayPal's alumni network is unusually well connected for a company of its size — a legacy of the early PayPal cohort that went on to found and fund a large share of the Bay Area technology industry, and of the many people who have since passed through Braintree, Venmo and Xoom. For a payments or fintech job search that reach is a genuine asset. Search by product (Braintree, Venmo, Xoom, Zettle) as well as by PayPal itself, because acquired-company alumni often identify with the product name rather than the parent.

PayPal alumni network

PayPal and wider fintech alumni connections — a long-standing, well-connected network.

Alumni network · LinkedIn alumni search · opens a public LinkedIn people search · link checked 2026-08-26

Open

Communities beyond PayPal

  • Layoffs.fyi

    Tech layoff tracker with a community list of laid-off talent open to work.

    Visit
  • VetsinTech

    Nonprofit connecting military veterans to tech training, employment and a national network.

    Visit
  • Disability:IN

    Business network for disability inclusion — employer directory and a talent programme.

    Visit
All alumni networks and ERGs for PayPal

Questions to ask PayPal HR

  1. 1. Which restructuring plan is my separation recorded under, and how is the reason for separation coded?

    Why it matters: PayPal runs several named plans concurrently and they differ in timeline and in what was accrued. The coded reason — role elimination, restructuring, or something else — is what a state unemployment agency reads and what a rehire screen checks, so get it in writing rather than inferring it from the announcement.

  2. 2. What is my exact last day of employment, and my exact benefits-termination date?

    Why it matters: With a sixty-day WARN notice period they can be far apart, and the second starts your COBRA and Marketplace clocks.

  3. 3. Am I being given notice pay, severance, or both?

    Why it matters: Pay during a WARN notice period and severance are different things — WARN requires advance notice but does not itself create a separate severance benefit — so an offer that quietly merges them is worth questioning.

  4. 4. What is the full severance calculation, and how is my tenure counted?

    Why it matters: PayPal has never published a formula, and acquisition service dates are sometimes recorded later than the actual start.

  5. 5. What happens to my unvested RSUs, and does any tranche vest before my separation date?

    Why it matters: A vest inside a sixty-day notice window is a specific dollar figure worth raising.

  6. 6. If I am 40 or over, where is the OWBPA disclosure and what is the decisional unit?

    Why it matters: 29 U.S.C. § 626(f)(1)(H) requires job titles and ages of those selected and not selected.

  7. 7. If I joined through an acquisition, which severance terms govern me?

    Why it matters: Retention agreements from Braintree, Venmo, Xoom, Hyperwallet or Zettle may still apply.

  8. 8. Has a WARN notice been filed covering my worksite?

    Why it matters: California filings are public; other states vary, and a short notice can mean pay is owed.

Get the important answers in writing where you can.

Employee action plan

First 24 hours

  • Do firstDownload your offer letter, any acquisition retention agreement, RSU grant and vesting statements, and recent payslips before access ends.
  • Do firstDo not sign on the spot — a release generally waives claims, and the review period exists to be used.
  • Do firstWrite down your notification date, last day of employment, benefits-termination date and acceptance deadline exactly as stated.
  • Do firstIf you are on a visa, confirm your last day of employment in writing — with a WARN notice period it may be later than you think.

First 7 days

  • Check California's EDD WARN database (or your own state's) for a filing covering your worksite.
  • Do firstAsk in writing whether you are receiving notice pay, severance, or both — and get the severance calculation.
  • Do firstRequest your RSU vesting schedule showing each tranche against your separation date.
  • Do firstIf you are 40 or over and this is a group programme, request the OWBPA disclosure.
  • File for unemployment in the state where you performed the work.

First 30 days

  • Do firstChoose between COBRA and a Marketplace plan before the earliest deadline passes.
  • Decide what to do with your 401(k) — compare leaving it in the plan, moving it to a new plan or IRA, or withdrawing, weighing fees, investment options, any loan offset and taxes — and check whether any outstanding loan has become due.
  • Work the PayPal and fintech alumni network — search by product name as well as by PayPal.
  • If a non-compete, non-solicit or clawback clause looked wrong, have an employment attorney read it before the revocation window closes.

Related LayoffNext tools

PayPal layoffs — frequently asked questions

Is PayPal still doing layoffs in 2026?+
Its filings show restructuring still in progress. PayPal announced a strategic reorganization on 29 April 2026, and its Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 records $44 million of restructuring charges for it — “primarily employee severance and benefits costs including stock-based compensation.” The same filing says a first phase of actions is expected to complete by the end of 2026 and could carry a further transformation-related charge of roughly $120 million to $140 million. PayPal has not published a headcount for any of it, so there is no company figure for how many people that represents, and this guide will not invent one. [7],[8]
What was PayPal's April 2026 reorganization?+
On 29 April 2026 PayPal announced it was moving to a simplified three-business operating model — Checkout Solutions & PayPal, Consumer Financial Services & Venmo, and Payment Services & Crypto — with several leadership appointments and the departures of the EVP/GM of Small Business & Financial Services and the EVP/GM of the Consumer Group. In its 10-Q PayPal describes the programme as realigning its operating structure and accelerating the adoption of AI and automation, targeting at least $1.5 billion in gross annualized run-rate savings over two to three years. The press release named no job losses; the severance charges appear in the following quarter's accounts. [8],[6],[7]
How many people did PayPal lay off in 2025?+
PayPal did not say, and the honest answer is that nobody outside PayPal knows. Its FY2025 10-K discloses two plans by cost rather than headcount: a first-quarter workforce reduction “to ensure compliance with a new regulation impacting operations in an international market” ($36 million, completed in the third quarter of 2025), and a second-quarter initiative to re-engineer technology infrastructure and “optimize our workforce” ($102 million in 2025, of which $96 million was employee severance and benefits). A severance charge cannot be divided into a headcount, because cost per person varies with tenure, level and country. [5]
How many people did PayPal lay off in 2024?+
PayPal never said. Its memo of 30 January 2024 committed to "reducing our global workforce by approximately 9% through both direct reductions and the elimination of open roles over the course of the year" — and because eliminating an unfilled requisition costs nobody a job, that 9% is not a headcount of people. The widely quoted figure of about 2,500 comes from reporting, not from PayPal. The only company-attributable people-number in the public record is the 311 in PayPal's California WARN filing, made the same day. [1],[3]
What severance did PayPal pay?+
PayPal has never published a severance formula for either round. What its Form 10-K confirms is the aggregate: $122 million in restructuring charges in 2023 and $121 million in 2022, in both cases recorded as primarily employee severance and benefits costs. That establishes severance was funded at scale; it says nothing about an individual entitlement. Ask for your own calculation in writing, including how your tenure is counted. [2]
Did PayPal file a WARN notice?+
Yes, in California. A WARN notice covering 311 workers in Santa Clara County was filed on 30 January 2024 — the same day as the employee memo — with an effective date of 30 March 2024, exactly sixty days later. That is the standard federal WARN sequence. It covers California only, so treat 311 as a floor for the US total rather than the total. Check your own state's database for your worksite. [3]
How many people does PayPal employ?+
Approximately 23,800 globally as of 31 December 2025, with about 9,600 in the United States — 46% of the workforce in the Americas, 42% in Asia-Pacific and 12% in Europe and the Middle East. Two years earlier, at the end of 2023, it was approximately 27,200 with about 10,200 in the US. The roughly 3,400 difference is a net figure: it nets every restructuring plan against attrition and against the hiring PayPal continued to do, so it is not a count of people laid off. [5]
What happened in the January 2023 PayPal layoff?+
PayPal's 10-K states that in the first quarter of 2023 management initiated a global workforce reduction "intended to focus resources on core strategic priorities, and improve our cost structure and operating efficiency," with $122 million in associated restructuring charges recorded during 2023 and the programme substantially completed by the fourth quarter. Reporting at the time put it at roughly 2,000 people, or about 7% of the workforce, announced by then-CEO Dan Schulman on 31 January 2023 — that headcount is reporting, not a PayPal figure. [2],[4]
I was notified in January but my last day was in March. Which date matters?+
For almost everything that matters, your last day of employment does — not your notification date. It sets your benefits-termination date, starts your COBRA election window, and if you are on an H-1B it starts the discretionary grace period of up to 60 days. California's WARN notice for this round ran sixty days from notice to effective date, so the gap was substantial. Get your last day confirmed in writing rather than working from the day you were told. [3],[1]

Sources and methodology

Every material figure on this page references a numbered source below. We prioritize company and SEC filings, official government and WARN data, and federal immigration data, followed by reputable reporting; anonymous posts are not used as a sole source for any material claim. Confidence labels describe source strength, not certainty for your situation: supported by company, sec, government, or multiple strong sources. (High); credible reporting exists but important details remain incomplete. (Medium); public evidence is incomplete or primarily secondary. (Limited).

  1. PayPal Holdings, Inc. (Newsroom) · January 30, 2024 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: "reducing our global workforce by approximately 9% through both direct reductions and the elimination of open roles over the course of the year", Stated rationale: drive focus and efficiency, deploy automation, consolidate technology to reduce complexity and duplication, Affected employees notified between 30 January 2024 and the end of that week, "All decisions are subject to consultation, where required by law", No headcount figure and no severance terms stated in the memo

  2. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · February 8, 2024 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: "As of December 31, 2023, we employed approximately 27,200 people globally, with 45% in the Americas, 42% in Asia-Pacific, and 13% in Europe and the Middle East", Approximately 10,200 employees located in the US, across 27 countries, "During the first quarter of 2023, management initiated a global workforce reduction intended to focus resources on core strategic priorities and improve our cost structure and operating efficiency", 2023 restructuring charges of $122 million, primarily employee severance and benefits costs, substantially completed by Q4 2023, 2022 restructuring charges of $121 million under a separate optimization plan

  3. California Employment Development Department (EDD) · January 30, 2024 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: 311 workers, Santa Clara County, notice date 30 January 2024, effective 30 March 2024, recorded as a layoff, Notice filed the same day as the employee memo, with a sixty-day gap to the effective date, The only company-attributable headcount in the public record for the January 2024 round

  4. CNBC · January 31, 2023 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · secondary

    Supports: Reported headcount of approximately 2,000, or roughly 7% of the workforce, for the January 2023 round, Then-CEO Dan Schulman's memo and its stated macro-economic rationale, Reported characterisation of severance packages as generous — no schedule published

  5. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · February 3, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: Headcount ~23,800 globally and ~9,600 in the US at 31 December 2025, 1Q 2024 Plan: $307 million of restructuring charges in 2024, 1Q 2025 Plan: $36 million, regulatory-driven workforce reduction, 2Q 2025 Plan: $102 million in 2025 ($96m severance + $6m other)

  6. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · May 5, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: April 2026 strategic reorganization announced 29 April 2026, At least $1.5 billion in gross annualized run-rate savings targeted over two to three years, 2Q 2025 Plan costs to date at 31 March 2026

  7. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC EDGAR) · July 28, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: $44 million of restructuring charges in Q2 2026 for the April 2026 strategic reorganization, primarily employee severance and benefits including stock-based compensation, 2Q 2025 Plan workforce component completed in the second quarter of 2026, First-phase actions targeted for completion by end-2026, with a transformation charge of approximately $120–140 million in the second half of 2026

  8. PayPal Holdings, Inc. via SEC EDGAR · April 29, 2026 · Accessed August 26, 2026 · primary

    Supports: Move to a three-business operating model on 29 April 2026, Departures of the EVP/GM of Small Business & Financial Services and the EVP/GM of the Consumer Group, No headcount figure was published with the reorganization

Report a correction

Believe something is inaccurate or outdated? Email support@layoffnext.com.

Methodology & standards

How we research · Editorial standards

Important disclaimer

This guide is an educational summary of publicly available information about PayPal and is not legal, financial, tax, immigration, benefits or employment advice. It is not affiliated with, authorized by, or endorsed by PayPal. Severance, benefits, equity, WARN coverage and legal rights vary by role, level, location, tenure, legal employer, agreement and applicable law, and companies change terms between rounds. Verify your specifics with HR, official notices, state agencies and qualified professionals. See our full disclaimer.

Deepak Middha, Founder of LayoffNext
Founder of LayoffNext

Deepak Middha is the founder of LayoffNext and a Chartered Accountant (ICAI, India). A U.S. immigrant with nearly 20 years of experience — and 17 years in hedge fund and private equity administration, including as Vice President of Fund Accounting at NAV Fund Administration Group and Associate Director of Private Equity and Real Estate at SS&C Technologies — he builds free, plain-language layoff tools and guides for employees, H-1B workers, and immigrant families.

Updated September 17, 2026
LayoffNext Weekly

Layoff recovery tips for employees

Get practical layoff recovery tips, financial planning reminders, job-search guidance, and new free tools.

Free weekly email. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Learn what's inside